Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is a happy occassion, because it’s around this time nearly 20 and 17 years ago – depending on the book in question – that I got my first taste of horror roleplaying in Call of Cthulhu. My first Call of Cthulhu book, which was the 5th edition, was the first ever roleplaying book I ever owned and bought with pocket money from my parents. I still have it sealed away somewhere still, probably in NZ as the book has been badly damaged by time. My other copy of Call of Cthulhu, which is the slightly more “modern” 5.5 edition was bought in 1998 – ironically also around today, although I can’t remember why I needed to replace the old book at this point. It’s now 17 years old and essentially falling apart and has been well loved, almost continuously pawed through off and on since I could start running CoC consistently in the early 2000s.

Call of Cthulhu 1

Call of Cthulhu 2

Time may have ravaged you a bit, but I am sure there will be another 20 years of proudly sitting on my bookshelf, complaining to the Trail of Cthulhu books I own about the “Good old days” where investigators had to succeed at rolls to make clues or find another solution. So happy ownership birthday to the books belonging to the grand daddy of horror roleplaying games Call of Cthulhu, which legions of subsequent game designers have pinched copious ideas from since. I may be cheating on both of you with a younger model in Trail of Cthulhu, with some different curves and a more stable personality, but you will always remain my first true love in horror roleplaying.

Without the introduction to roleplaying I had from this fantastic and inspirational book, I wouldn’t be the GM I am today.

