Tags

, , ,

The first time I saw these ants in Australia I was just plain impressed as my homeland does not have an equivalent. Naturally I went in as close as I could to try to get some detailed photographs:

Bull Ant

About 1.5cm or so in length and with big jaws, I soon learned why I should be very glad New Zealand does not have one like them: They are ANGRY as hell! Of course it was kind of my mistake for basically being a giant pink monster and terrifying their hive, but once about 30 of these came rushing out I was well and truly out of there.

Bull Ant 2

This photograph is out of focus because this was the vanguard of the horde to come and I smartly recognized I had to get out of there in a hurry, which I did. At some point I should get some better shots of these ants. Some day.

